After user deletion in MongoDB Server the improper invalidation of authorization sessions allows an authenticated user's session to persist and become conflated with new accounts, if those accounts reuse the names of deleted ones. This issue affects MongoDB Server v4.0 versions prior to 4.0.9; MongoDB Server v3.6 versions prior to 3.6.13 and MongoDB Server v3.4 versions prior to 3.4.22.
Workaround: After deleting one or more users, restart any nodes which may have had active user authorization sessions.
Refrain from creating user accounts with the same name as previously deleted accounts.
| Product | Vendor Advisory | Solution File | Added | Published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Freebsd | — | Upgrade mongodb40Upgrade mongodb36Upgrade mongodb34 | Oct 12, 2019 | Sep 28, 2019 |
| Mongodb | — | Upgrade to the latest version of MongoDBUpgrade MongoDB to version 3.4.22Upgrade MongoDB to version 3.6.13Upgrade MongoDB to version 4.0.9 | Oct 31, 2019 | Aug 6, 2019 |
| Ubuntu | — | Upgrade mongodb-clientsUpgrade mongodb-serverUpgrade mongodb-server-core | Mar 22, 2023 | Aug 6, 2019 |
With curated Threat Intelligence, you can see which vulnerabilities truly put you at risk, prioritize what matters most, and act before attackers do.
Explore Intelligence Hub